Jim & Casper Go to Church

I recently read the book, “Jim & Casper go to Church”. It is the story of a Christian (Jim) hiring an athiest (Casper) to join him in visiting, discussing and evaluating a dozen churches. They visited many sizes and cultures of churches throughout the country. I already knew of most of the churches they visited and would have liked to have heard about lesser known ones. No sacramental churches were visited.

The book depressed me. In looking critically at some American Churches it certainly uncovers warts. I just felt like I was on this great speck-finding journey. I suppose it is necessary to do an honest evaluation now and then but I somehow came away feeling embarrassed and hopeless.

I do agree with the book when it adresses issues about our general hypocrisy. When really looked at, we are too often motivated by selfishness instead of sacrifice, we use manipulation instead of love and friendship, we promise things like wealth or healing as a fundraiser, we teach positive thinking instead of biblical truth, we are divided by race and economics, and so much more . I agree with the book that the American Church is often as materialistic centered as the secular culture.

The Church also has it’s own language (chrstianese), music (often shallow in content) and rituals (usually needing either familiarity or interpretation). Jim and Casper seem to think that’s wrong. I am not sure that it all is. Christianity all over the world has a culture in the midst of the secular culture. We speak in biblical language using words that the average Joe wouldn’t know (like… salvation, regeneration, redemption, glorification, etc…). We sing songs that bring joy to us with words that lack significance to, or even might offend non-believers. We have holidays that are ours alone. Is that any different than any culture? American southerners listen to country music and have words and expressions that most northerners would never use. Both think there is something wrong with the other.

PERSONAL TIRADE: I can’t understand why churches all over this country have a problem with celebrating Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Lent, All Saints Day and even Communion… but no problem with the 4th of July, Mother’s Day, Memorial Day, etc… Are we Americans or Christians? I thought we believe that “This world is not our home, we’re only passing through.” While I am patriotic and love this country, I am Christian first and foremost. My hope is not in a capitalist republic but rather a theocratic kingdom.

BACK TO THE BOOK: I don’t necessarily agree with the notion that Church should be a comfortable place for non-christians. Church should be designed for believers to worship and experience God, not as an outreach. The early Church used the market place for outreach, not the Church. If I read history correctly, the early Church had communion (not the music or offering) as the center of their worship and asked the non-baptized to leave when it came to that time of the service (not very seeker friendly).

What non-christians should see is a counter-culture, a Christ-like culture… a place where people truly do love one another as they pursue the biblical mandate. That’s the draw, an alternative culture! They should know us by our love for one another and our committment to what we believe. They should see something different than what they are used to.

Jim also says that, “Jesus never intended for the institution we call Christianity to form into a religion.” He then goes on to say that Jesus only mentions the word “Church” twice. My question is, how many times does Jesus have to mention it for it to be his intention. The rest of the New Testament is all about the building of the Church through gifted men who have been given the job. The epistles deal with problems within the churches and Jesus himself speaks to some well established churches in Revelation 2 and 3. The early Church had designated leadership, worked on defining their worship (see 1cor 11-14 and the didache), and utilized creeds (see 1Cor 15:3ff and the historic creeds) and rituals (baptism and communion).

The book also expresses the idea that we need to be less dogmatic. Casper says, “I think if more people were willing to treat beliefs as beliefs and facts as facts that would make talking to each other easier. There’s nothing worse than trying to have a conversation with someone whose convinved he’s right.” While there are some non-essentials in Christian beliefs that aren’t rock solid, some things are just the truth. I think that many people are looking for solid beliefs and we should not be ashamed that we have them. The apostles never inferred that they only had beliefs. They preached the gospel as the only truth. Jesus himself did not pull punches or seek to make the gospel pallitable. He said’ No man comes to the Father except through me.” 1 Peter 3:15 tells us to,”…sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts, always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence;” Therefore we should not be obnoxious, but we should be clear in our beliefs and defend them.

I don’t want you to think that I hated the book. I am glad I read it because it challenges me to look at what I am doing… and maybe that’s why they wrote it.

4 Responses to Jim & Casper Go to Church

  1. erzsi1113 says:

    I’m so glad you mentioned the book here ~ After hearing you mention it in your sermon a couple weeks ago I wanted to follow up and read this book. But then, as these things go, I totally forgot the name of it. Thanks for the reminder and I’m even more interested now after reading this post…

    ~liz
    (and since you’ve said you can’t see the link: http://abrightfuture.wordpress.com)

  2. frdave says:

    If you read it let me know what you think. Thanks for the address

  3. Jim says:

    fr Dave

    I know you are a busy person and have to read a lot of stuff so I really appreciate you taking time to read and then review our book.

    I think you raise many obvious points and while I and many others may not agree with you – millions of other people throughout history have.

    You make this comment

    “What non-christians should see is a counter-culture, a Christ-like culture… a place where people truly do love one another as they pursue the biblical mandate. That’s the draw, an alternative culture!”

    I agree- if not church – then where do you suggest we take people to see this alternative culture?

    Also- How on earth did you run into our little book?

    Thanks
    Jim Henderson

  4. frdave says:

    What a surprise to see you on my blog! It truly is a small world, and getting smaller.

    I went to a local book store and picked up a few books that were recommended by either “Church Marketing Sucks” or “Outreach Magazine”. I have been evaluating our service and questioning whether or not we needed to rethink some things. Our service is liturgical, with modern music, charismatic worship and evangelical preaching. We are a buffet of Christianity. (A small buffet at that)

    In answer to your question, “…where do you suggest we take people to see this alternative culture?” I am not sure, and am trying to work it through. I would prefer to take the Church to them in some way. “A light on a hill” would do. But the word “light” would need to be defined. Clearly it involves “good works” that glorify the Father.

    Recently, I have asked the question, “What do we want heard when people in the community talk about us?” My answer isn’t terribly original but it is simple. I would like to hear, “They genuinely love God, love each other and care about those around them, in word and action”.

    Seeing the Counter Culture
    It’s a normal day and the people who work for all of the world’s adoption agencies, private or public, show up to work and find lines around their buildings of Christians who are there to give to every child a home and put them out of business. Let’s all take one thing and do it! A light on a hill.

    Thanks for commenting

Leave a comment